About us

Life Science Zurich was initiated in autumn 2001 as a common venture of the University of Zurich und the ETH Zurich. The aim of this joint initiative was to create a stronger network for researchers in the life science field and to communicate modern research to the broad public. Life Science Zurich is funded by the University of Zurich and the ETH Zurich. The Life Science Zurich management team is headed by one delegate of each university and includes the managers of the subunits and networks.

Today, LSZ has four different units cooperating closely: Learning Center, Graduate School, Communication & Events and Young Scientist Network.

 

The original idea of stronger networking and more focus on internal and external communication has been developed over the years by the team in Communication & Events. A range of activities like exhibitions, science slams, talks, lectures and many more give an impression about the Life Science research in Zurich and also offers a dialogue with interested groups.

 

As an important institution in Life Science research, education and society, the Learning Center provides unique educational opportunities for different target groups. In courses, demonstrations and lab visits, the visitors can discover the life sciences, gain insight into modern research fields and also discuss with scientists. The Learning Center is a valuable point of exchange between academic research and schools.

 

The Graduate School houses 18 outstanding PhD programs of the University Zurich and ETH Zürich. Its comprehensive and challenging education with a wide range of courses and a strong mentoring system attracts the most promising young scientists from across the world.

 

The Young Scientist Network is run by a group of graduate students and post-docs of the University and the ETH Zurich. Switzerland. Its main mission is to reduce the existing gap between academic research and the life science industry. This is achieved by several smaller and larger events throughout the year.

 

The Business Network also belongs to Life Science Zurich but work indepently of UZH or ETH. It supports and promotes the collaboration between the Life Science players in academia, industry and the public sector in the Greater Zurich Area, other Life Science centers in Switzerland and abroad.

Über uns

Life Science Zurich ist eine gemeinsame Plattform der Universität Zürich und der ETH Zürich. Durch ihre Aktivitäten fördert sie die Verankerung des Bildungsstandortes Zürich als nationales und internationales Zentrum für Spitzenforschung, erstklassige Ausbildung und wirtschaftliche Innovation im Bereich der Life Sciences.

Life Science Zurich startete im Herbst 2001 als gemeinsame Initiative der Universität Zürich und der ETH Zürich, um die Forschung in diesem Bereich stärker zu vernetzen und der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen. Life Science Zurich wird finanziell von der Universität Zürich und der ETH Zürich getragen. Die strategische Führung des Projekts obliegt der Geschäftsleitung, die sich aus je einem Vertreter / einer Vertreterin der Universität Zürich und der ETH Zürich sowie den Verantwortlichen der einzelnen LSZ-Einheiten zusammensetzt.

LSZ besteht heute aus den Einheiten Learning Center, Graduate School, Communication & Events und dem Young Scientist Network.

Der ursprüngliche Auftrag der Vernetzung und der verstärkten Kommunikation sowohl nach innen wie auch nach aussen wird durch Communications & Events wahrgenommen. Sie informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die moderne Life Science Forschung und fördert gleichzeitig den Dialog mit dem Publikum. Dies geschieht durch vielfältige Aktivitäten wie Ausstellungen, Science Slams, Diskussionsforen, Vorträge, Wettbewerbe und vieles mehr.

Das Learning Center ist ein einzigartiges Aus- und Weiterbildungszentrum an der Schnittstelle von Life Science Forschung, Pädagogik und Öffentlichkeit. Es will bei seinen Besucherinnen und Besuchern die Freude und Neugier an den Biowissenschaften wecken, indem es Einblick in aktuelle Forschungsthemen und den Kontakt zu Forschenden ermöglicht. Das LSLC ist eine wichtige Drehscheibe zwischen Hochschulforschung und Schulen.

Die Graduate School vereint 18 hervorragende PhD-Programme der UZH und der ETH unter einem Dach. Dank ihres ausgezeichneten Lehrangebots und Mentoringsystems lockt sie die weltweit besten Studierenden nach Zürich.

Das Young Scientist Network bringt die akademische Forschung und die Life Science Industrie für die Nachwuchsforschenden näher zusammen. Es organisiert verschiedene Aktivitäten, die zu nachhaltigen Beziehungen mit Life Science Firmen führen und die Vernetzung stärken.

Ebenfalls zu Life Science Zurich gehört das von der ETH und UZH unabhängige Business Network, welches die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Life Science Akteuren aus Hochschulen, Industrie und Behörden im Grossraum Zürich sowie mit anderen Life Science Zentren in der Schweiz und im Ausland fördert.